Real Blogs & Articles
Culture | People | Jobs | Music | Money | Politics and more


Posted by The New N Used Link Team on Monday, January 14, 2013 Under: Jamaica

Jamaica is the third largest of the Caribbean islands, and the largest English-speaking island in the Caribbean Sea. Situated 90 miles south of Cuba, 600 miles south of Florida, USA, and 100 miles south-west of Haiti, Jamaica is approximately 146 miles long, 51 miles wide, and has an area of 4,411 square miles. The capital, Kingston, is the largest city and is located in the south-eastern part of the island. It is said that the island's name, Jamaica, is derived from the Arawak word Xaymaca, which probably means "land of wood and water" or "land of springs". Although the official language is English, most Jamaicans speak an English-based dialect which is known as patois. Jamaica's multi-racial population of approximately 2.6 million, is predominantly of African, European, East Indian and Chinese heritage. Jamaica's motto - "Out of Many, One People" is based on the multi-racial roots. The country gained independence from the United Kingdom of Great Britain on 1962 August 6. At Independence, Jamaica became a member of the Commonwealth, with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State. The Queen is represented in Jamaica by the Governor-General.

In : Jamaica 

Make a free website with Yola